Time is Scarce

She liiiiives!
Update on Jubilare: I have, for a month now, been working only one job. I am financially poorer, but richer in pretty much every other way now. It’s great!
I have been absent here because, after over a year of working 2 jobs, I was worn out. Since then it’s been because I am playing catch-up on things, and my MonsterMuse has been ferociously active. Spring is here, I have crocus and my favorite variety of daffodils. I have planted sweet-peas, radishes and turnips. I am in good health, and so, thank God, is the rest of my family.

The fly in my ointment is that I miss this blog, and everyone who reads it, and all the blogs I read. I need to ease back in slowly, though, so that I don’t over exert myself. So, for a while, I will be re-blogging old posts from when I first started rambling here. It does me good to backtrack, sometimes, and reconsider things I’ve said in the past. And I hope you all will enjoy the wandering, too.

jubilare

But I will offer a quote which I have been mulling over from G. K. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy as well as some of my mullings.

“No one doubts that an ordinary man can get on with this world: but we demand not strength enough to get on with it, but strength enough to get it on. Can he hate it enough to change it, and yet love it enough to think it worth changing? Can he look up at its colossal good without once feeling acquiescence? Can he look up at its colossal evil without once feeling despair? Can he, in short, be at once not only a pessimist and an optimist, but a fanatical pessimist and a fanatical optimist? Is he enough of a pagan to die for the world and enough of a Christian to die to it?”

Simultaneous fanatical pessimism and fanatical optimism… the words do not, in…

View original post 600 more words

About jubilare

Just another tree in the proverbial forest. Look! I have leaves! View all posts by jubilare

9 responses to “Time is Scarce

Leave a Reply

