Dose of Dickinson

Tell all the Truth but tell it slant–
Success in Circuit lies
Too bright for our infirm Delight
The Truth’s superb surprise
.
As Lightning to the Children eased
With explanation kind
The Truth must dazzle gradually
.
Or every man be blind —
.
-Emily Dickinson
.
I’ve been thinking about this poem a lot lately, especially in terms of storytelling. Most of the time, I think, truth is best served straight, but I also think that Emily is right. Sometimes “the Truth must dazzle gradually or every man be blind.” It raises interesting questions.
About jubilare

Just another tree in the proverbial forest. Look! I have leaves! View all posts by jubilare

11 responses to “Dose of Dickinson

  • Brenton Dickieson

    This is my favourite! think I blogged it once. Any excuse to push that poem.
    Have you read Eugene Peterson’s “Tell it Slant”? It’s a book that came out of a Regent College class he taught for a while.

  • Colleen

    I love your blog. I love you. Got all of the photos up. I’ll send you the best surprise.

  • Rob

    I haven’t read much of Dickinson, though I do have a collection of her poems. I find it interesting that she struggled with faith through her life. You selected a wonderful example. Guess I better go read some of her others!

    Now you’re adding to my list!

    • jubilare

      If I remember rightly, she struggled with depression, too. Often, it seems, our struggles are were we gain wisdom. I wish it were always so. She left us some wonderful, evocative and often wise poetry.

  • Kelly

    t’s tough, isn’t it? I don’t know if I’ll ever love the Hobbit movies. Every special, sweet moment in the first film seems to be followed by a terrible, cringe worthy moment. But at the same time, we have to let go and enjoy what we can from them. I didn’t realize it until the move was over, but my body was tensed up the whole time I was watching the first one in the theater. Going to try to be more relaxed the second time around :)

    • jubilare

      It is tough, especially when there is so much potential. I don’t think I will ever love them, but I agree, we have to enjoy what we can from them. At worst, they should still be great eye-candy, and I love watching Sir Ian, Martin Freeman, and Richard Armitage. I will work on reaching the “acceptance” stage of grief by the time the movie comes out. ;)

      By the way, this comment is on the wrong post. Not that it matters, it’s just funny to me because it’s something I’ve done before, too (quite recently, in fact).

Leave a Reply

