Hamlet Statistics

I am puzzled by something.

I do not have a super-popular blog (and to be honest, I like it that way. If I got too popular, I might flee), but I get at least a few hits every day. Naturally, my main-page has the lion’s share of hits, but I have noticed that nearly every day since it went up, my post Ay, madam, it is common gets at least one.

Out of curiosity, I looked up my all-time statistics, and while I was not surprised that the above post was second in the number of hits, I was a little shocked by the numbers.

So, since I started this blog on December 27, 2011, my main page has received 2,572 hits.

Since its publication on January 15, 2013, “Ay, madam, it is common” has received 454!

The next highest ranking post, from October 18, 2012, has only 210.

Being of a curious nature, I can’t help but wonder why. The relatively high rank of The Hobbit read-along post isn’t surprising. It was a social effort, and with the movie coming out, a lot of people have been searching for Hobbit-related ramblings. Many of the search-terms that lead people to my blog are Tolkien-related (a fact that surprises no one).

The other is more of a mystery. The phrase I used in the title has, according to my stats, only led two people here (or one person twice?) and as far as Hamlet quotes go, it isn’t one of the more iconic.

The subject of the post is practically universal for writers, but it seems strange to me that, even so, the traffic to would be so significant and consistent.

Has it been linked somewhere without my knowledge? Why is it so often viewed, and by whom? I want to know!

Sadly, it remains a mystery to me. I would appreciate any insights, even if they are simply wild speculation involving alien cacti and the feline mafia.

About jubilare

Just another tree in the proverbial forest. Look! I have leaves! View all posts by jubilare

20 responses to “Hamlet Statistics

  • Brenton Dickieson

    Google-metrics are a mystery to me. It is the combination of right words and searchers.
    I enjoy your blog–keep writing!

  • palecorbie

    Perhaps it counts the same IP address coming back several times (e.g. someone comments, comes back the next day to see if there’s a reply, then out of curiousity) as lots of hits? That was quite a commented one, I think. Also there may well be young/inexperienced randoms stumbling across it by putting more specific variations of “writer’s block” into google to see if someone else feels the same.

    • jubilare

      The first would be the case if it weren’t getting several hits a day even now, and it shows no sign of letting up. For the other, the common search-terms that lead people here show up in my statistics, and none of the commonly searched ones would lead anyone to that post. It’s perplexing.

      • palecorbie

        Eh. Bots attaching themselves to your keyword combination there, maybe?

        Unrelatedly, you see what I mean about the Special tiger bell now, yes?

        • jubilare

          Maybe.

          Sort of. It looks more like a dwarf-tiger-bell to me, but I like it. The skulls are also very bright and cheery-looking I like them, too. Did the five-pence sneak on board or did you send it on purpose?

          • palecorbie

            All my tiger bells are that size…just less broad-foreheaded, more detailed and less…wall-eyed. I’m glad of that, and hope you get inspired to use them somehow. Oh! I completely forgot about that, it’s a Jersey 5p (they come in with the cruiseliners, along with the odd Northern Irish and Manx coins) and I thought you’d like the unusual currency.

          • jubilare

            Ah, my other one is a little larger, and rounder. I like the patina of the little one a lot, though.
            I do! Thank you. Also, I hadn’t realized that the Isle of Mann had its own currency, though I should have guessed. Next time I make it to the U.K., I will have to visit.

  • ladybluewhimsy

    Curiouser and curiouser! Haven’t a clue. I’m guessing someone has referenced it somewhere else … ?

  • Bill

    I don’t have an answer for you but have experienced something similar on my blog. Once, years ago, I posted a quote, without comment. It isn’t an obscure quote and can be found, no doubt, in hundreds of places on the net. Yet I get hits on that post nearly every day it seems and it is one of my most “popular” posts. I have no idea why. Like you, I suspect it is linked on some other site, but usually referrals from links are separately identified. I tried googling a bit of your post to see if it is reproduced somewhere else, but found nothing. I hope you solve the mystery, as it might help solve mine too. :)

  • Stephanie

    Do any of the common search terms appear in the comments of the post? Maybe that?

  • Sharon Autenrieth

    I, too, have a similar tale. I wrote a post about mommy bloggers and mentioned Soule Mama. Since that time, hardly a day passes without someone finding my blog by searching for her. I even made up a search engine poem about her (which brought me even more hits, of course).

    • jubilare

      It’s funny what paths people take around the internet. I’m sure if the feds or anyone is tracking me, they probably think I’m obsessive (true) and have multiple personalities (not true) ;)
      The weird thing is, though, that there aren’t any commonly used search-terms showing up in my stats that would lead anyone to that post!

  • Lana

    Does this mean you don’t want a new reader? *ducks*

  • mjschneider

    The feline mafia is onto you, too?! NOBODY IS SAFE!!!

Leave a Reply

