Zombies vs. Bunnies

“Dream,” to me, does not have positive connotations. It does not have negative ones, either.

It is a neutral term.

I remember happy dreams from childhood, but since then even the dreams I enjoy are not really “good” dreams. I have had a few lucid dreams, always fun, but even they have deep shadows.

The dream I enjoyed most in the past decade involved a water-park and a hideous plague that turned its victims invisible as it killed them so that people were playing in water among corpses they couldn’t see.

You may wonder how I enjoyed such a dream. I didn’t enjoy all of it, obviously, but the overall experience was good due to some extenuating circumstances.

1. most of my nightmares, and some of my dreams, involve zombies. At least the invisible corpses didn’t get back up.

2. I am sure you have experienced dreams in which things that ought to have bothered you didn’t. I was once fine with being coated in spiders in a dream. I only freaked out when I woke up.

3. Instead of being a helpless victim, I had an objective Being active makes a big difference in fear.

4. In the dream I was a big, glowing dog who could run across water. I highly recommend being a quadruped in one’s dreams, especially a glowing one.

So I have dreams that I enjoy, and dreams that only perplex me, but none of them are truly positive.

Then, of course, there are the nightmares. I have already mentioned the zombie problem. That started before I really knew what zombies were. I was a child dreaming that I was in my back yard. My beloved dog looked at me, and she wasn’t behind her own eyes. Imagine a moment where you realize that your pet has died and been replaced by something malevolent that keeps her body moving.

From there, the zombie dreams have only gotten worse. The most distressing involved my brother and I trapped in a zombie-filled library. It ended with him becoming an undead and chasing me up an elevator shaft, but the worst part was my fear, throughout, that something would happen to him and then my utter horror when it did. Brotherbeast, if you are reading this, you had better not get bit on z-day.

Why all this morbid musing? Well, I am trying to process my completely un-morbid dream of last night.

It involved bunnies.

Baby bunnies.

For some reason I had three young rabbits in my care, each about the size of my fist. One was cotton-tail colored, another was spotted black and white and the third was albino. They were ludicrously cute.

They had not been handled much, or had been handled too roughly, for they were afraid of people. I was preparing food for them when someone (there were several non-identified persons in the room, as there often are in dreams) picked up the wee albino. The bunny escaped and proceeded to run around the room. Everyone tried to catch it, but I crouched down and waited patiently. I was aware, even in the dream, of being far more patient and much less panicky than I would normally be under such a circumstance. Several times the creature ran past me and I failed to catch it, but I waited. Then it came close enough and I got it.

I held it firmly but carefully to me, stroked it, and put it back in its box with the other two. Then I fed them. Somehow I was confident that I would be able to win their trust in time.

Then my cats woke me, wanting to be fed. It wasn’t until I woke up fully that I was struck by the unusual nature of this dream. There were no zombies, no plagues, no horrific injuries or deaths. Even the “threat” in the dream was mild. The bunnies didn’t bite me (I have been bitten by a hare before. I can’t recommend it). I might as well have been dreaming about unicorns and rainbows.

Baby rabbits, little balls of warm, soft, vitality.

For the first time in at least two decades, I had a truly good dream.

About jubilare

Just another tree in the proverbial forest. Look! I have leaves! View all posts by jubilare

10 responses to “Zombies vs. Bunnies

  • Colleen

    Yea for the bunny dream. May there be more warm and fuzzies than zombies in your future dreams.

  • emilykazakh

    We’ve discussed dreams before. I remember you telling me the one about being a glowing dog. I might begin referring to you as Baskerville from now on, unless you strongly object.

    I agree that I wish you only happy dreams with bunnies and any other creatures that might be more cuddly than deadly. Puppies. Dreams of bunnies and puppies and laughing babies.

    If we’re going to discuss dreams, however, I must say that I envy you. Your dreams at least to be interesting. Mine are mundane. Last Saturday I dreamed I was having a conversation with my sister. I dreamed the same conversation over and over for at least 5 times (that I can remember). In each dream I tried to raise my head up from my bed to look at her and couldn’t, for I had a terrible pain in my neck. The end.

    But last night’s dream was interesting. Last night I dreamed about the book I am reading, only the characters were all my closest friends and family. Which disturbed me given the roles in which my brain had casted them. (*That* person is my villain? And he’s my love interest? WHAT?) But at least it was interesting.

    • jubilare

      Hahahha! How could I object to that? I love that story.

      I’ve dreamed of puppies, but even that was a bit distressing because I had to protect them from people trying to kill them. The astounding thing, to me, about the bunny-dream was the complete lack of threat. All the things that could have gone wrong (bunny getting stuck somewhere, one of my cats or my dog getting a hold of it, etc.) did not even appear in thought or worry form. I could definitely do with more dreams like that, and I wish them on you and all my friends and family too.

      I will own that my dreams are interesting, and I do appreciate that. Even my nightmares tend to have intriguing elements once I am past the initial sickening fear. I hope you get more interesting dreams without getting the “interesting” nightmares! I love how dreams differ from person to person and I have to wonder what, in our minds, causes these differences.

      For instance, you dreamed about characters from a book? Several of my friends have experienced that. They dream about characters from books they read, or of the characters from their own writing, or even from my writing. Me, though? Nothing. I can be equally “in to” a book or story, and heaven knows my characters and their worlds are loud enough in my mind while I am awake, but never an appearance in my dreams. Real people and places appear all the time, though usually in very unreal situations and circumstances. I have to wonder why that is.

      As for mundane dreams, the few I have are always anxiety nightmares, like being late for work, or failing a test. Because of that, your conversation with your sister sounds rather interesting to me. I guess that what is unfamiliar has a certain mystique. Also, I can imagine that your character-laden dream of last night must be very weird and fascinating. Maybe it is even freaky if you analyze it too much! I wonder what that would be like…

      • emilykazakh

        I don’t often dream about fictional characters. I could probably count the number of times that’s happened on one hand. (Once I had a dream that I got on the boat with Frodo and left Sam and the other hobbits behind. It was so sad. Ha.)
        Usually when I analyze my dreams I can come up with a logical reason for why I had them, just not why they occurred the way that they did. It’s usually stress. I suppose if I were to analyze it further, it would be freaky, but I try not to. I suffer from nightmares often, and I’d just rather not think about them too much when I wake up.

        • jubilare

          That’s however many more than me! …you dreamed of Sam? I am terribly envious, though I know I shouldn’t be as sailing away from him might just break my heart!

          Yeah, analyzing nightmares can do more harm than good.

  • robstroud

    I find a frequent correlation between what I’m thinking about near bedtime (e.g. movies I’m watching) and my dreams. You mentioned not knowing what zombies were when you first dreamt of them… I assume that includes not having seen “Pet Sematary?”

    • jubilare

      Yeah, it includes all Stephen King movies and books. I can’t think of any horror-related anything that I was exposed to as a young child save for the scary elements in things like The Hobbit, The Chronicles of Narnia and the Tales of the Brothers Grimm (which might account for a quite a few horrors, but unlikely to spark zombies, I think). I had, and have, a pretty rampant imagination, and I avoid horror-type things because of how they effect me.

      I do find links to my recent thoughts and experiences in my dreams, like the fact that I watched a dog-show before I had my dream about being a glowing dog, but sometimes… my mind has an image-language all its own, and zombies represent something. What they represent, I don’t know because, while most of the time they are horrible, I have had a few dreams with very civilized and conversant zombies in them.
      .

  • palecorbie

    Do you have any idea what circumstances caused it? I usually have looking-after-small-animals (usually shrunken versions of adult creatures) dreams when I’m worried I’m not politically active enough. Since getting chickens, my subconscious tends to reprimand me if I oversleep by making me dream about escaped or starving chickens, though my last such dream also involved being given a black-and-tan piglet – what that was about, I do not ken.

Leave a Reply

